In 2006 the North Oregon Coast Symphony created The Sandra Stromquist Memorial Scholarship Fund in memory of Sandra Diane Stromquist who taught music in the Cannon Beach, Seaside, and Astoria Schools during her 32-year teaching career. She developed Astoria's string programs, founded the Sunset Strings, and was a member of the Little Ballet Theatre Orchestra and the North Oregon Coast Symphony. The fund is used to grant scholarships to high school seniors who have played with the NOCS for a full season. All memorial donations, donations designated for scholarships, and donations for refreshments served during performance intermissions currently make up the Scholarship Fund.

At the first rehearsal of the season the conductor and the scholarship committee meet with the seniors to describe the scholarship and candidate qualifications. Each student is handed an application describing attendance requirements and expectations concerning musicianship. The name of the college to which the student intends to apply is requested on the form along with the studentí»s signature. During the year the conductor keeps a record of each candidate's attendance and notes attitude and progress. Though some students don't have an opportunity to play as much as others because of the instrumentation of the various scores, every studentí»s contribution is valuable. Hence the amount of playing within the repertoire is not a criterion. Students are judged according to the excellence of their contribution to the music and growth of their musicianship. At the end of the year students' records are reviewed by members of the scholarship committee who vote on the applicants. It is anticipated that scholarship amounts will range from $350 to $500. Checks will be made out to the academic institutions after the scholarship recipients have enrolled in the fall.


2016 Michael Anderson, viola

2013 Jonathan Williams, viola

2013 Corwyn Prichard, cello

2013 Leon Matlock, bass

2013 Dakota Adams, violin

2012 Daphine Lillian Gann, flute

2012 Michael Gann, oboe

2011 Susanna Brodie, cello

2010 Kamila Swerdloff, violin

2009 Erica Johnson, violin

2008 Hannah Sorenson, cello

2008 Nathan Casteel, trombone

2008 Steven Maize, violin

2008 Victor Rose, violin

2007 Samuel Eugene Coffey, cello

2007 Charles Elliott Leback, bass

2007 Kelly Powell, oboe

2007 Maia Donachy, violin

2007 Margit Bowler, violin